Your dog's medical history lives in five places. Here's how to get it into one.
The clinic, the drawer, the camera roll, a chat thread and your memory — why each fails at the counter, and how to pull them into one searchable record.
Written by HeyVetto · Prices and listings checked · HeyVetto is our app
Short version: if the thing you hate is typing the vet's sheet in, HeyVetto is the only one of the five that reads it for you. If your clinic is in the US and on a partner system, VitusVet pulls records for free and you type nothing either. If you want one diary for everything — expenses, photos, weight — PetNoter is the broadest. If you need reminders and a vaccination list for one pet and nothing else, the free tier of Vet Record or 11pets is enough.
Every "best pet health app" list we found was written by one of the apps on it, and none of them said so above the fold. So: HeyVetto is ours. This page compares it against four apps people search for alongside it — PetNoter, 11pets, Vet Record and VitusVet — on the five things that decide whether an app is still in use a year later. Where we lose, the table says so.
We read each app's public website and its App Store listing on 14 September 2026 and wrote down what they claim. We did not pay for every premium tier, so a feature a listing doesn't mention is marked not stated, not ❌. Prices are the ones on the listing that day, in the currency the listing shows; app prices change without notice, so check before you pay. If we've got something wrong about your app, tell us and we'll fix the row.
Most comparison tables count features. That rewards the app with the longest list. What decides whether you're still using one next spring is smaller and harder:
Tinted column is ours. Scroll sideways on a phone.
| HeyVetto | PetNoter | Vet Record | 11pets | VitusVet | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reads the vet's sheet into searchable text | ✅printed and handwritten; flags uncertain characters | ❌photo or PDF stored; details typed | not stated | not stated | ❌photo stored; records from partner clinics |
| Lab values with a reference range, out-of-range marked | ✅ | ❌lab results kept as a document | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Medication reminders with a day counter | ✅ | ✅ | ✅ | ⚠️reminders in the paid tier | ✅ |
| Two people, both can tick a dose | ✅invite code, free | ✅share with family | ⚠️family sync in the paid tier | ⚠️family access in the paid tier | ⚠️share with a vet or sitter, not a co-owner |
| Export everything as PDF | ✅free | ✅ | ⚠️paid tier | not stated | not stated |
| Works offline | ✅ | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Pets on the free tier | unlimited | multiple | 1 | 1 | multiple |
| Price | free while in testing | free · $2.99/mo · $14.99/yr · $59.99 once | free · $6.99/mo · $24.99/yrwebsite quotes other figures | free · in-app purchases £1.99 and £17.99no price table published | free |
| Where it runs | browser on iPhone and Android, installs to the home screennot in the app stores | App Store, Google Play | App Store, Google Play | App Store, Google Play, web | App Store, Google PlayUS clinics |
| Languages | English, Ukrainian | English | English | English | English |
| Last store update at time of writing | September 2026 | August 2025 | July 2026 | August 2024 | April 2023 |
Best for: an owner who is handed paper — printed or handwritten — and never wants to type it in. Photograph the sheet at the counter; the drug, dose, dates, clinic and lab values come out as text, the photo stays underneath, and a prescription becomes a course with a reminder and a day counter. Send the other person in the house a code and both phones tick the same dose. Lab values line up in a row with the out-of-range ones marked. One tap copies the summary a new vet asks for. See what it reads.
Where it loses: it isn't in the App Store or Google Play — it's a web app you install from the browser, which is normal now but still a surprise to some people. It's in testing, so it's free and it's young; there is no expense tracker, no photo journal, no appointment booking with your clinic, and no insurance claims. Handwriting reading sometimes gets a character wrong (it flags the ones it isn't sure of, and the original photo is one tap away, but it happens). English and Ukrainian only.
Price: free while in testing. No account to start; works offline; export everything as PDF and leave whenever you like.
Best for: an owner who wants one app for everything about the pet, not only the medical part. Vaccination history, weight chart, expenses, a photo memory journal, document storage with camera capture, medication times, and sharing a pet with family. Any species. PDF export is included.
Where it loses: the documents stay documents. You photograph the lab sheet and PetNoter files it; the values inside don't get a range or a trend, and the drug name on a prescription doesn't become a reminder by itself — you type it. English only. Ratings on the US App Store are few at the time of writing, so treat reviews as anecdote.
Price: free tier, then $2.99 a month, $14.99 a year, or $59.99 once (US App Store, 14 September 2026). The one-off price is the honest option here if you know you'll stay.
Best for: one dog or one cat, a vaccination tracker with alerts, medication and treatment reminders, daily wellness notes, and a QR code that shows a stranger the pet's emergency details. It's new and moving fast — the store listing was updated in July 2026.
Where it loses: the free tier is one pet. Family sync, PDF export, more than one pet and the longer weight history are all in the paid tier. Nothing on the listing says it reads a document; you enter the record. The website and the App Store listing quoted different premium prices on the day we looked, so check the price the store shows you before you subscribe. English only, and few ratings yet.
Price: free for one pet, then $6.99 a month or $24.99 a year on the US App Store listing, 14 September 2026; the website quoted $5.99 a month and $39.99 a year the same day.
Best for: an owner whose clinic, groomer or sitter is also on 11pets. It's built as a network: book appointments with connected businesses, share selected data with a professional for a set time, invite a vet to enter records directly, and track weight, vitals and activity. Web, iOS and Android.
Where it loses: the free tier is one pet and, per the pricing page, reminders, family access and unlimited storage are paid. No published price table — the App Store lists in-app purchases at £1.99 and £17.99 on the UK store without saying what each buys. Nothing on the listing about reading documents, lab ranges, PDF export or offline use. The iOS app's last store update was August 2024 at the time of writing, and recent reviews on the UK store are mixed about the redesign.
Price: free for one pet; in-app purchases at £1.99 and £17.99 on the UK App Store, 14 September 2026.
Best for: an owner in the United States whose clinic uses a practice system VitusVet connects to. Then the records arrive from the clinic, you request appointments and refills in the app, and you can submit insurance claims from it. It's free, it holds several pets, and it carries by far the most ratings of the five — 4.9 from about 11,000 on the US App Store at the time of writing.
Where it loses: if your clinic isn't connected, or isn't in the US, you're back to photographing documents and typing details in. Sharing is with a vet, groomer or sitter, not with a co-owner who ticks doses. Nothing on the listing about reading a photo into text, lab ranges, offline use or export, and the iOS listing's last update was April 2023 when we looked — three and a half years.
Price: free.
Most owners we talk to don't use any of these. They photograph the sheet and hope. That solves exactly one thing — the paper is no longer the only copy — and fails at the counter every time, because a photo can't be searched, the dose in it can't ring, and the person at the clinic is never the person with the photos. Any app in this table beats it. How to organize pet medical records is the version of this advice that doesn't need an app at all.
Can you export everything, in the free tier, today? If not, don't put two years of records in it.
It depends on what fails for you today. If it's typing, pick one that reads the sheet — HeyVetto is the only one of the five that claims to. If your clinic is in the US and uses a partner system, VitusVet pulls records from the clinic for free. If you want a general diary with expenses and a memory journal, PetNoter is the broadest. If you mostly need reminders and a vaccination list for one pet, the free tier of Vet Record or 11pets covers it.
All five have a free version. VitusVet is free throughout. HeyVetto is free while in testing. PetNoter, Vet Record and 11pets have a free tier and a paid one; Vet Record and 11pets limit the free tier to one pet.
Of the five compared, only HeyVetto states that it reads the sheet — printed or handwritten — into searchable text, and it flags the characters it isn't sure of. The others store a photo or a PDF and let you type the details beside it.
HeyVetto and PetNoter share a pet between two accounts in the free version. Vet Record and 11pets put family sync in the paid tier. VitusVet shares records with a vet, groomer or sitter rather than with a co-owner who can tick doses.
HeyVetto and PetNoter export to PDF in the free version; Vet Record exports in the paid tier; 11pets and VitusVet don't state an export on their listings. Check this before you put two years of records anywhere.
From each app's public website and its App Store listing, read on 14 September 2026. Where a listing doesn't mention a feature, the table says "not stated" rather than guessing. HeyVetto is our own app; we say so at the top, and we list where it loses.
Sources, all read 14 September 2026: PetNoter and its App Store listing · Vet Record and its App Store listing · 11pets pricing page and its UK App Store listing · VitusVet App Store listing. HeyVetto's own claims are the ones on its landing page. App names belong to their owners; none of them sponsored, reviewed or approved this page.
Five apps, five honest answers, and one question that beats the whole table: the next time a vet asks what she's already had, will you be able to find it in fifteen seconds? Pick the one that makes that true for your clinic, your paper, and the other person in your house.
The clinic, the drawer, the camera roll, a chat thread and your memory — why each fails at the counter, and how to pull them into one searchable record.
One folder per pet, a one-page summary in front, a photo of every sheet on the day. What to keep, how to get copies from your vet, and what a new vet actually asks for.
Free while we're in testing. Photograph one document tonight and see what it makes of it — and if it isn't for you, the export button is right there. iPhone & Android, no account to start.
Get HeyVetto free